Student Photo Festival Summer 2018


Winners of the Student Photo Festival

Mohammed Hassan
Master Programme of Life Science Informatics

Vatsala Sharma
Master Programme of Media Informatics

Sushma Devaramani
Master Programme of Autonomous Systems

Winner of the 1. Fraunhofer Campus Birlinghoven Photo Award

Sushma Devaramani

Honourable Mentions

Wei-Chan Hsu
Mohandass Muthuraraja
Abanoub Abdelmalak
Master Programme of Autonomous Systems

Yasamin Salimi
Master Programme of Life Science Informatics

Sajib Mukhia
Vinay Prabhu Pyati
Master Programme of Media Informatics

Congratulations to all winners and honourable mentions!


The Student Photo Summer Festival 2018 is a photo competition for students, held at b-it in co-operation with the b-it Master's Programmes of Autonomous Systems, Life Science Informatics and Media Informatics and the Master's Programme of Molecular Biotechnology of University of Bonn.

It aims at introducing incoming students to their new Master's Programmes, to life at the university and the Aachen/Bonn/Cologne (ABC) region. As b-it has moved into a new building this contest will be part of the b-it House Warming Party 2018. Students of the Master's Programmes listed below are welcome to participate in the contest.


The Student Photo Summer Festival 2018 at b-it is open to students of the three b-it Master's Programmes:

  • Autonomous Systems
  • Life Science Informatics
  • Media Informatics

And the the following Master’s Programme:

  • Molecular Biotechnology of University of Bonn

Students of these programmes are invited to submit photos showcasing:

  1. Bonn, Aachen or the ABC region
  2. Their university (University of Bonn, RWTH Aachen University, Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences) or b-it; this year with a focus on the new building and the new Poppelsdorf Campus as well as Bonn-Poppelsdorf itself.
  3. Their master's programme
  4. Special category 2018: The Fraunhofer Campus, Schloss Birlinghoven near Sankt Augustin

Prizes will be awarded for the best photos in each of the categories 1-3. Another special Fraunhofer Campus Photo Prize in a new, fourth category, will be awarded to the student with the best photo or photo series of the Fraunhofer Campus, Schloss Birlinghoven, Sankt Augustin.

The jury can decide if other participants than the prize winners will receive an honourable mention. Staff members are also welcome to submit photos on the designated topics. These, however, will not be included in the competition.


Photos or photo series should be submitted as jpg files, and should not exceed a file size of 5 MB (per photo or per photo series). Submissions should be e-mailed to info [at] b-it-center [dot] de. Or you can e-mail us a link to download the photo or photo series. Please indicate the Master's Programme to which the participant belongs. It is possible to submit photoshopped or edited photos.

With the submission of entries to the Student Photo Summer Festival 2018 at b-it, the competition's participant accepts the publication of his/her name on the websites of the participating programmes. The winners additionally accept to be photographed at the Welcome/House Warming Party (the award ceremony) and the publication of their joint photo on the institutional websites, publications and the Facebook and other social media sites of the participating master's programmes. The juries can award honourable mentions.


The jury of the Fraunhofer special prize consists of b-it directors. The jury president for this category is Professor Dr. Stefan Decker. The jury for the categories 1-3 consists of the study coordinators of the above-mentioned Master's programmes.

Deadlines and important dates

  •   May 20th, 2018 - Deadline for photo submission
  •   May 29th, 2018 - Announcement of winners and award ceremony

Need more information?

Check with your study coordinator or e-mail to info [at] b-it-centre [dot] de.



share this page on: